Fun_People Archive
2 Oct
The 1993 IG NOBEL PRIZE ceremony

Date: Sat,  2 Oct 93 14:22:03 PDT
To: Fun_People
Subject: The 1993 IG NOBEL PRIZE ceremony

 From: vangogh.CS.Berkeley.EDU!bostic (Keith Bostic)

The 1993 IG NOBEL PRIZE ceremony will be held on Thursday,
October 7, 1993, at 7:00 pm at Kresge Auditorium at MIT.

The ceremony is produced jointly by the Journal of
Irreproducible Results and the MIT Museum.

The Ig Nobel Prize honors individuals whose achievements
cannot or should not be reproduced. Past winners include:
Edward Teller, father of the hydrogen bomb (Ig Nobel Peace
Prize, 1991); Dr. Cecil Jacobson, the prolific patriarch of
sperm banking (Ig Nobel Biology Prize, 1992); Dan Quayle (Ig
Nobel Science Education Prize, 1991); Michael Milken, father
of the junk bond (Ig Nobel Economics Prize, 1991); and
former Los Angeles Police Chief Daryl Gates (Ig Nobel Peace
Prize, 1992).

The ceremony is presided over by a distinguished panel of
genuine Nobel Laureates and other dignitaries, including
Russell Johnson, The Professor from Gilligan's Island.

This year's ceremony will include a new activity: The
Heisenberg Certainty Lectures. Each lecture will be 30
seconds or less -- the time limit will be strictly enforced
by a referee. The lecturers include: Sheldon Glashow (Nobel
Laureate in Physics, 1979); Russell Johnson (Professor
Emeritus, Gilligan's Island); jazz harpist Deborah Henson-
Conant; and Alan Lightman (author of "Einstein's Dreams").

This year, Ig Nobel Prizes will be awarded in eleven categories,
including Medicine, Chemistry, Mathematics, Literature, Peace,
Psychology, and Economics.

Audience members are invited (though not required) to wear
lab coats or other ceremonial garb.

Tickets are $1. They can be obtained at Kresge Auditorium on
the night of the ceremony, or in advance at the MIT Student

Delegations (7 or more people) are invited to join the
ceremonial entrance parade. For details call (617) 253-8329,
or send Email to IG@MITVMA.MIT.EDU

[=] © 1993 Peter Langston []